This is a Book by Demetri Martin

Posted on August 26, 2011. Filed under: Books, Personal Reviews, TV Shows | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

This is a fabulous book. This is a hilarious book. This is a semi-thought-provoking book. This is clearly the work of a genius.

Demetri Martin is a comedian, actor and now I guess an author as well. I have always enjoyed his comedy, it is witty but thought-provoking and really smart (and witty!). When his show on comedy central was cancelled I was pretty disappointed but upon seeing his book gracing the New Releases table at Barnes & Noble I perked right up! I finished this book in 2 days flat. My husband, typically a slower reader, finished in 3. For a nice, light summer read, or a quick book around the busy holidays, this is one to keep in mind!

Please do not go into reading this book expecting a story or any type of running theme. The theme of this book is Martin’s comedy style, that’s really the only common thread. It is more a collection of funny quips that he has written versus a novel. As a daily commuter this was perfect for me to read to and from work as I could easily move from one ‘chapter’ or story to the next. If you do read this on a train or any other public commuting space please be prepared to be stared at by your fellow commuters. You will most likely laugh – out loud and frequently. This is typically abnormal behavior during the morning and evening rush hours so don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Since his comedy is a little unusual, before you devote your time to this book, you may want to check out Martin’s twitter or website to get a feel for his comedy. He is known for not only his funny stories but also great drawings. Lucky for us, he included quite a few of his drawings within the book. There are two sections full of drawings, including graphs and pie charts for those analytical out there. The subject matter is light, it may take a small amount of thought, but it is really just fun.

Since there isn’t a unified plot with this book, this has become an increasingly difficult review to write. I have recommended this book to numerous colleagues and friends, and so all of you out there on the World Wide Web – check it out too! I really cannot say enough about this book. It is fun, it is clever, it was wonderful. Definitely a book I plan to re-read once it has finished making its rounds through my circle of friends.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “This is a Book by Demetri Martin”

RSS Feed for Allison’s Weblog Comments RSS Feed

his show was so good!

If you really loved his show then you will definitely LOVE this book! No lie, as I read it I could hear him actually saying/acting these stories out as if he were still on the show talking to me. Just such a great book. If you pick it up I hope you really enjoy it!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

